By Utah State University | January 1, 2017

The Department of Sociology, Social Work, and Anthropology (SSWA) announces the creation of a new student scholarship: The Human Rights and Social Justice Ambassadorship

We live in a time in which there is an urgent need for leaders who embody a commitment to diversity, inclusivity and civility. 

The purpose of this Ambassadorship is to recognize and encourage students who are declared SSWA majors or minors (Sociology, Social Work, Anthropology, Criminal Justice) who have a demonstrated commitment to promoting and protecting human rights and social justice through scholarship, advocacy, and action.

Students receiving this $1,000 stipend will be ambassadors for human rights and social justice. They will be change-agents in their Aggie communities and beyond. A unique component of this award is that ambassadors will establish a work group challenged with planning and carrying out activities that further the values and goals endemic to SSWA.

We encourage applications from students who have demonstrated commitment to human rights and social justice scholarship, advocacy, and action. Scholarship will be evaluated based on students’ demonstrated academic success (minimum 3.0 GPA). Advocacy and Action will be evaluated based on students’ demonstrated efforts in community service, public outreach/programming, civic/political engagement, and activity in professional organizations as is appropriate to the student’s discipline.

Application Requirements

Students will complete the application via qualtrics. In the application, students will provide basic information and respond to three brief essay prompts related to human rights and social justice. Students will: (1) introduce themselves; (2) describe their past experiences; and (3) articulate their vision for future efforts as they relate to human rights and social justice.


Deadline: 5 pm on January 16, 2017

Award Period: Spring Semester, 2017


Application Link:

Questions regarding the Ambassadorship should be directed to Derrik Tollefson, SSWA Ambassadorship Committee Chair 


Related Stories