Skip to main content


While the college’s name has changed over the years, its purpose has always been to provide a rigorous academic experience that helps students develop the skills and confidence they need to thrive in a dynamic world.


 The Agricultural College of Utah is established under an act by the territorial assembly of Utah.


 Students publish the first campus newspaper Student Life. The name is changed to the Utah Statesman in 1978.


 The university designates five “schools,” including the School of General Science, which includes much of the courses in the humanities and social sciences.


 The state legislature attempts to consolidate the University of Utah with the Agricultural College of Utah to limit competition. It fails. However, a legislative mandate prohibits the  university from offering instruction of the arts, education, and humanities. All  academic restrictions are lifted by 1927.


 The university restructures the School of General Science to include a School of Basic Arts and Sciences, which is renamed the School of Arts and Sciences in 1932.


 The university’s first international program is established at Kardj College in Iran.


 After several name changes, the university is officially renamed Utah State University.


 The university creates the College of Humanities and Sciences. A year later the College reorganizes as the College of Humanities and Arts. The Social Sciences are added in  1971, forming the College of the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.


 USU establishes its Undergraduate Research Program, making it the oldest in the country after MIT.


 A fire destroys much of the north wing of Old Main. Renovation efforts take 14 years to complete.


 The Caine School of the Arts is established as a separate entity from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences. John C. Allen is appointed the first dean of CHaSS.


 The first issue of the college alumni magazine Liberalis is published.