Skip to main content
Sample Image
English Department

For information regarding scholarships offered through the department of English, please visit the English Department website or call (435) 797-2733.

 Deadline for appplications is February 15, 2019

Alice Gorton Hart Endowment

This Award is given to a returning senior student who is an outstanding writer of poetry (as 1st choice), or who is an outstanding creative writer in general (as 2nd choice), GPAs achieved in nonliterary subjects shall not be relevant to this selection.

Blanche Stewart Firestone Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship supports undergraduates pursuing studies in English Education or Literary Studies, giving preference to female students. The donor's intent is for this scholarship to benefit students who are descendants of parents born in the United States of America.

Carlton and Edna Culmsee Scholarship

Recipients of the Culmsee Scholarship should demonstrate academic achievement and financial need. 

Dan C. and Manon Caine Russell Annual Graduate Fellowship in English

Initiated through the generosity of Dan and Manon Russell. Recipients shall be graduate students of English who demonstrate professional promise and who are enrolled full-time.

Department of English Book Scholarship

Awards for undergraduate students majoring in English. Selection based upon academic accomplishments and financial need.

Donna Benson Lee Scholarship

Candidates for this Scholarship should be junior or senior students majoring in English with a focus on English education to prepare for teaching in secondary schools. They should demonstrate financial need, with a GPA of at least 3.4.

Edith Welch Morgan Scholarship (Writing Contest)

Receipts must be an enrolled as graduate or undergraduate at USU during the time they hold the scholarship. Open to any students who are serious creative writers, and financial need shall not be a criterion for determining the award.

Cecilia Harrison Foxley Scholarship

Recipients must be an English major who is intending to teach high school English.

Esther V. Erickson Wrigley Scholarship

The Robert L. Wrigley family presents two scholarships annually in memory of Mrs. Wrigley. Scholarships are given to juniors or seniors majoring in English. 

Frances I. and Parker B. Arnett Scholarship

Candidates for this scholarship should be upper-division students who are studying British literature and maintaining a grade point average of 3.0 or better.





J. C. Fonnesbeck Scholarship in English

Students majoring in English with financial need and high academic standing may apply for this scholarship, established in memory of her father by Alice Fonnesbeck Gardner.

Janice Judge Dee Scholarship

For students pursuing a degree in English, emphasizing literary studies.

 Jenny and Thad Box Creative Writing Scholarship

Earnings from the Jenny and Thad Box Scholarship will be used to support students in the department of English who show potential to be superior writers.

Louise Christiansen Clyde English Scholarship Fund

This endowment, established in honor of Mrs. Clyde, a 1941 USU graduate in English, is for undergraduate students majoring in English.

Lucile C. Reading Scholarship for Students of Children's Literature

A bequest from Mrs. Reading, who wrote and edited children's literature, for English majors at USU who plan to teach, study, or write for children

Lynn Langer Meeks Fellowship

Established to provide financial support for a graduate student(s) in literature and writing whose primary interest is in the teaching of expository writing, with preference given to established English teachers, of more than 3 years service, who are returning for a master's degree.

Mabel Walker Carlson English Scholarship

Awarded to English majors in need of financial assistance.

N. A. Pedersen Scholarship in English

Undergraduate students majoring in English, who have high academic standing and financial need, may apply for this scholarship given in the memory of Dr. N. A. Pedersen, former Department Chairman and Dean at USU.

Peter O. Holmgren Scholarship

Awarded to a sophomore, junior, or senior student in the humanities division of the College of CHaSS. 

Ralph Jennings Smith Creative Writing Scholarship

An award consisting of one semester's tuition and fees is presented to an undergraduate or graduate student who is a serious creative writer. Recipient is selected based on a creative writing contest.

Veneta Leatham Nielsen Scholarship

Recipients should demonstrate professional promise and have a GPA of at least 3.0. Priority shall be given to candidates majoring in English and minoring in the classics, with an emphasis on classical literature of the world.