Skip to main content

CHaSS recognizes four faculty members as full professors


View as a pdf

Four faculty members advanced to full professors
Utah Public Radio journalists and editors were recognized June 15 by the Utah Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. From left: Daniel Kinka, Rhesa Ledbetter, Kerry Bringhurst, Aimee Cobabe, Jennifer Christensen and Dani Hayes.

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences ends the 2016-17 academic year with the promotion of four faculty members to full professorship.
Named as full professors are:
Damon Cann: political science professor, Department of Political Science.
Courtney Flint: professor of sociology, Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology.
Maria Spicer-Escalante: Spanish and linguistics, Department of Languages, Philosohy and Communication Studies.
Derrik Tollefson: professor of social work, Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology. He is also the SSWA department head.
Advancing from associate professor to full professor requires a sustained and distinguished track record of scholarly achievements.
Other faculty members also received promotions.
Advanced to associate professor with tenure (all based in Logan unless otherwise noted):
Clayton Brown, history, USU-Uintah Basin.
David Byers, archaeology.
Genevieve Ford, English, USU-Eastern, Price.
Jason Olsen, English, USU-Eastern, Price.
Rebecca Walton, Engish (technical communication).
Kyle Bulthuis, history.
Matthew LaPlante, journalism and communication.
Joshua Thoms, Spanish.
Advanced to clinical associate professor:
Susan Egbert, social work, Brigham City campus.
Sean Camp, social work, Tooele campus.
Shannon Browne, social work, Logan campus.
Advancements within the lecturer track:
Kevin Krogh, Spanish, principal lecturer.
Russell Beck, English, senior lecturer.