Skip to main content

CHaSS announces winners of 2019 awards


View as a pdf

Portrait of Karin DeJone-Kannan

Karin deJonge-Kannan, a principal lecturer in linguistics in the Department of Languages, Philosophy and Communications Studies, has been named 2019 CHaSS Teacher of the Year. Hers was among 13 awardees who were named.

Dean Joe Ward has announced the faculty and students who will be honored at the ceremony in March as CHaSS awardees. 

"Thank you for all the nominations and materials that were submitted," he said. "It is never easy to make these decisions with so many hardworking colleagues and students."
The award winners were selected by two panels of faculty members representing each department for serving on the separate awards committees.

Those receiving awards are:

Teacher of the Year:
Karin deJonge-Kannan (LPCS)

Researcher of the Year: Tammy Proctor (History)

Lecturer of the Year: Clair Canfield (LPCS)

Undergraduate Researcher of the Year: Rachael Gulbrandsen (SSWA)

Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year: Michaelann Nelson (English)

Faculty Undergraduate Mentor of the Year: Judson Finley (SSWA)

Outstanding Employee of the Year (Light of Old Main Award): Barry Harris (Dean’s Office)

Outstanding Employee of the Year (True Blue Award): Stacey Kelly (Political Science)

Ed Glatfelter Faculty Service: Jess Lucero (SSWA)

Doctoral Student Researcher of the Year: Kristen Koci (SSWA)

Master’s Student Researcher of the Year: Stacie Denetsosie (English)

Graduate Student Instructor of the Year: Alicia Ingersoll (SSWA)

Legacy Award: Frankie Urrutia-Smith (History)